Gluten Free Body Care : What Ingredients Typically Add Gluten to Your Beauty Products?

wheat and glutenGluten in Cosmetics

There are many dietary preferences these days. Sometimes those preferences are really a necessity, based on allergies or a need to strictly adhere to removing certain things from one’s diet in order to maintain optimal health or prevent certain health issues from cropping up that are related to a certain ingredient.

These preferences and necessary eliminations can sometimes cross over into personal and body care as well as topically applied cosmetics and beauty products.

Some of these restrictions include gluten (found in wheat derived ingredients), vegan which means restricting all or most animal-derived ingredients, and can even involve restrictions on certain types of oils if one has nut allergies.

Gluten Free Beauty Products?

These restrictions can sometimes be harder to adhere to than one things when it comes to cosmetics and body care since even an ingredient that appears on its surface to not be a derivative of an animal, wheat or nuts (or whatever other elimination is needed) can indeed be derived from said materials.

This is where it becomes helpful to do a little reading up on the subject, or emailing the maker of the product to confirm that some of the materials in their product are in fact not derived from whatever it is you are trying to avoid.

With the increasing interest in gluten free products, I thought it might be useful to talk about some of the typical ingredients you might find in beauty, body and personal care products that contain derivatives of the main source of gluten – wheat.

The first and most obvious is to look on the ingredient label for anything that contains the word “wheat”.  For example, one of our lip balm flavors still contains wheat germ oil. It is soon to be removed from the product, but it still may contain a trace amount of wheat germ oil, so it is on the ingredient label as such.

Other common wheat and gluten ingredients on the label might be :

1.) hydrolyzed wheat protein

2.) oat kernel flour (avena sativa)

3.) ingredients with the word “dextrin” in them should be examined closer as they may contain gluten

4.) hydrolyzed wheat flour

5.) wheat amino acids

6.) wheat starch

7.) wheat protein

8.) wheat germ extract

9.) PVP/Cross Polymers may contain gluten, depending on what formulation is used

This is not by any means an exhaustive list. The safe bet would be to either contact the company to see if their products qualify as “gluten free”.  Whether you have celiac disease, which involves a sensitivity to ingesting gluten orally, or a general sensitivity to gluten overall, whether it touches the skin or other parts of the body externally, it helps to know whether you are buying products that may potentially cause an allergic reaction.

We here at Aura Sensory have been asked whether a common ingredient listed in many of our products is gluten free – Vitamin E. We use vitamin E as an added way to help preserve the freshness of our products without chemicals.

With the exception of our Herb Mint Citrus lip balm, we use a vitamin E that is sourced from only sunflower oil (gluten free source of Vitamin E).  If you have any questions specifically about whether any of our other body, hair or skincare products are gluten free, please feel free to email us, we’d be happy to answer all of your questions!

Leave a Reply

*

captcha *